I'm finally out of the closet, as a "Metrosexual"...............
Tonight is the first time I've ever heard this term to describe a guy!
I was at the Oriented event tonight and was chatting with some friends. It just so happens that I was wearing a Pink T-shirt. So a friend asked why am I wearing a pink t-shirt? "isn't that kinda gay?" So I respond that its trendy to wear pink this season. All of a sudden, I get these weird looks...Seems like they were kinda shocked that I actually know what colors are IN for the season.
So one of my friends say that I am a "Metrosexual"... I was kinda offended at first, not quite too sure what that term actually meant. She said it means a guy who is in tune with his feminine side, but is not gay.
Hmm...this puzzled me alot...so I decided to come home and Google the term. Much to my surprise, there was quite alot of info on this phenomenon.
Here is what the proper definition of a "Metrosexual"
"metrosexual (met.roh.SEK.shoo.ul) n. An urban male with a strong aesthetic sense who spends a great deal of time and money on his appearance and lifestyle."
Hmm...seem to kinda sound like me...so after further research, I found some other insightful definitions:
-A straight, urban male eager to embrace and /or show off his feminine side, especially when it comes to pricy haircuts, designer suits, and skin care products.
-Tricky word for a guy who is actually straight, but everyone thinks he's gay because he is very much in touch with his feminine side.
-A heterosexual man who is very much in touch with his feminine side, and is not scared to show it. He can appreciate upscale things like Gucci bags, Prada wallets, etc.
They claim David Beckham is the Icon of the "Metrosexual"
At this point, I'm starting to think maybe I am a "Metrosexual"!!!
Ok maybe I do appreciate the finer things in life; occasionally get expensive haircuts, wear designer clothes, strange obsession with shoes (I have more shoes than some woman) , buy designer underwear, care about my appearance, go to gym and take yoga, try to have good manners and drive a Mini Cooper (which my friend claims its the ultimate icon of a Metrosexual)..All this from just wearing a pink t-shirt tonight!!!
Later, I found a online "Are You a Metrosexual Test" and here are my results:
I guess that proves it!!! I am "Metrosexual" and PROUD OF IT



1 Comments:
Hey there, Tony! It's Diva. I met you a few months ago thru Ginny. I can't believe you're just learning all about Metrosexual. Hello! Where have you been? What kind of friends do you hang out with, uh? It's cool that you're into yoga. Have you tried Pilates yet? Anyway, Ginny told me about your blog since I just started mine last week. Take care and I'll see you around town soon!
Post a Comment
<< Home