Saturday, December 27, 2008
Thursday, December 18, 2008
Monday, December 15, 2008
Tuesday, December 02, 2008
Can't Teach a Old Dog New Tricks
Glad to know there are tests in this world to let u know that you're not insane (yet). Recently took a personality test call MBTI and its a interesting process. Kinda like taking SAT's and filling in questions and within the answers...voila..your personality is set.
I am now officially ENTP! What is ENTP you ask? I'm by scientific terms: Extrovert, Intuation, Thinking, Perception. I think more easily described as a person who is social and thinks outside of the box but in a logical manner, but however no organization skills whatsoever....
Its amazing how accurate it is and its sad my life and personality can be summed up within a test and in these few words. So does it prove that our personalities are set when we are born and nothing we do or change can make a difference? I guess the old saying is right..."can't teach a old dog new tricks"
In case you also have doubts about your personlity or want to know why you are so screwed up... Go here for a simple test and explaination:
http://www.humanmetrics.com/cgi-win/JTypes2.asp
Tuesday, November 25, 2008
It's been awhile since my last blog posting....ok..3 years...but better late than never eh?
I've decided to start up again mainly due to having more time on hand, want to share my life updates with friends and most importantly being inspired by my gf's amazing blog.
So hopefully I will update on a regular basis (hope much more frequent than my excersise routine)
Sunday, May 29, 2005

Winning the 2005 NBA Championship! 
To see more pictures of my championship moment!
Thursday, May 12, 2005
Saturday, January 01, 2005
M.I.A
I know I've been M.I.A (Missing in Action) on my Blog for the past few months.
Well, here is a quick update for the friends who still actually check-up on my blog. After 8 months of vacation, I've finally found a new career path that I think I would enjoy.
I found a position as Brand Manager for Hennessy V.S.O.P, the leading cognac in the world. I know its a drastic 180 degrees turn from what I used to do, but I think this industry suits my personality well. Also, Hennessy is part of LVMH...can't go wrong with being part of such a big brand company.
Now, I get to plan events, go to parties, and best of all, drink fine cognac, wine and champagne on the job.
So a definite change in direction, but I think its something good for me.
Party into 2005!!!
Wishing all my friends and family a very Happy New Year.
It's amazing how fast a year has gone by already. I still remember celebrating 2004...all of a sudden its 2005...getting old
Here are some of my new year resolutions (I'll see if I kept any in 2006)
1) Live life to fullest everyday
2) Stay fit and healthy
3) Do well in my new job
That's pretty much it...
Wish everyone good health and a prosperous new year.
Saturday, October 16, 2004
Oh My Donuts!!!
The crazy long line waiting to buy donuts
Its truly an amazing site. The first official donut store opened up this month in Tienmu.
So of course, me being the donut lover (who doesn't love donuts), I decided to go check it out for myself. Much to my amazement, there was a crazy number of people lining up to also buy donuts.
I didn't know it was such a craze. So I gave up and went home.
So at this point, I'm thinking, ok..better for me to wait and come back at a off hour and maybe nobody will be in line. hehehe...
So 8:30AM Sat. morning. I got up, got dressed and went to the Mister Donut. Lord Behold!!!! There was already a line forming. I quickly parked and got in line. At this point, it was around 9AM. After about 10 minutes, a employee of Mister Donuts came out and used a loudspeaker and blurred something about they will start selling donuts when they opened at 11:00.... What the Hell? Its only freakin 9 right now, so it means I gotta wait 2 hours to get my donuts. I was about to give up and thought, what the hell..I'm gonna wait it out and get it!!! Its only 2 hours.!!!
So after 40 minutes of waiting in line. The guy next to me was talking to his friend saying that we'll get our donuts around 12:30. He said they will open at 11:00 and then by the time we get to buy, its another hour and a half. I decided that it was not meant to be. I refuse to wait 4 hours to get donuts. That is JUST NUTS!!!
So I decided to leave. What's funny is that the line behind me formed even longer. I'm guessing they should get their donuts in the evening, just in time for dinner.
Tuesday, September 21, 2004
The Moment of Truth
There are times in life when you are faced with to make a decision, this is one that I will never forget.
Its been five years now since I've arrived here in Taiwan and five years to the date of today that changed my life.
Today is the five year anniversary of 9/21 Earthquake (6.7 on the Richter scale) that rocked Taiwan's central and northern region. This horrific event caused major damage to the homes of thousands, destroyed natural landscapes, and changed my life forever.
I still remember the night of the earthquake clearly in my mind. I had just moved to Taipei for about a month and was living at my father's friend's house. His apt. was on the 23rd floor and top floor of this building. That night I was still watching TV and was ready to go to bed. I went to the bathroom to brush my teeth. While brushing, the lights started to go dim and all of a sudden, I felt like I was dizzy and couldn't keep my balance. It turns out that the building was already swerving and within seconds later, the heavy rumbling started. I dashed out of the bathroom (with toothbrush still in my mouth) and ran under the dining table. That dash towards the table seemed like forever, felt like time was moving in slow motion. I saw the cabinets fall over, glass shattering, and the stairs twisting.
The earthquake seemed to last forever...and while I was under the table, I thought to myself that for sure I was going to die that night (big ass earthquake + 23F of a old building= Collapse building)
You know when some people say, "When your about to die, your entire life flashes before your eyes", I can assure you that saying is so TRUE. When I thought I was gonna a goner, I blanked out and started to see images of my life flashing by. It was like looking through a photo album of your life of all the good memories, bad memories, important events, accomplishments, family and friends. A walk down memory lane just before your about to kick it...
Here is the revelation that most people don't know. Its that at the end of that "walk down memory lane", all of a sudden everything was silent and you ask yourself one last question .... "If this is my last moment on earth, did I live a fulfilling life that I would have no regrets if I died"
I still remember clearly that at that moment, after remembering my great family, wonderful friends, all my unforgettable experiences and accomplishments, I thought to myself that "If I was going to die tonight, I would have no regrets as to how I've lived my life so far". At that time, I felt like I lived my life to the fullest everyday; I lived in various countries, traveled to more places around the world than most people would in their lifetimes, and continued to challenge myself and learned new things everyday.
Its ironic that in a time of possible death, its when I found the key to happiness in life. I realized that if I was ready to die that night without any regrets, it means that every day I live after that was a bonus. And therefore became even more adamant of not wasting each day and doing things that challenge yourself is what makes your life meaningful.
So from that point on, everyday I live, is a +1
I hope we stop taking life for granted and realize each day we are here is a blessing. Learn to live each day to the fullest and when you go to bed each night, you ask yourself "if tonight was my last night, would I have any regrets?" I hope the answer to that questions everynight would be "Yes"...
***Althought it was a extremely strong earthquake, I did not "meet my maker" that night. (Obviously)
Sunday, September 12, 2004
Masstige: Luxury for the Masses...
I've always find it interesting to learn new terminology that help better explain consumer behavior. I was recently talking to a marketing friend and he brought up the word "Masstige". *This post is for you marketing people out there
Harvard Business Review recently defined "masstige" as the goods and services that occupy a sweet spot between mass and class. Basically they command a premium over conventional products but may not always be positioned at the top of their category in price.
You can see alot of these brands and products, such as The Body Shop, Sephora, CK, and Coach, are slowly gaining alot of popularity in the market. A phenomenon where prestige goods meet mass-market ones.
Its so true, nowadays, I can find designer labels at Wal-Mart & Costco. I think people are likely to spend a bit more money to have that feeling of prestige. This is definitely good movement as we begin to appreciate design and quality. As consumers become more aware know how to create an image without forking out tons of money, contrary to what most think.
We need keen eye and pick knockout items that cross economic lines. They might not be the latest designer products, but they have the look and feel of being expensive.
Is the Metrosexual Male a New Breed?
It's been over a month now since my discovery of this term Metrosexual and since the time I posted on my blog, I've gotten immense feedback. Seems like there is alot of interest on this subject. I've noticed that there are alot of guys who I would categorize in the Metrosexual category and actually alot of products that you can tell their marketing is towards that segment, such as Abercrombie and Fitch. Seems like there is a huge market out there.
But sometimes I stop and wonder, "Is it good or bad to be considered Metrosexual?"
Ok, it seems that there are alot of advantages to being somewhat metrosexual compared to being the traditional male role. I think the definite advantage is the attention to the quality of lifestyle that we partake. Having a decent fashion sense and knowing what's in and what is not is definitely another plus. Moreover, the tendency to have really great female friends is definitely a plus. Its not that I don't like having guy friends, but I find having a deep discussion about life is somewhat difficult when the most of the time, guys only discuss subjects such as cars, technology, sports and women. So in a way, I definitely feels a bit more evolved than the average Joe...
But with the good, also comes the bad. First and most obvious, the "straight or gay" factor... Most people misunderstand the term and think that if a guy is into that kinda stuff, then you're automatically gay. Another bad is the the difficulty to hang out with normal guys because sometimes you just don't enjoy the company. However, the worst is to have all these female friends around you who consider you their good guy friend, but don't think of you as a good potential boyfriend. So you're pretty much is kinda stuck in the middle in a obscure stage of your relationships.
I guess when it comes down to it, its really difficult to say whether its a good sign when guys are more in touch with their feminine side. Perhaps the acceptance of Metrosexuals is farther behind than Homosexuals.
Thursday, September 02, 2004
What Do You Live For?
We all wake up every morning for a reason, what drives us to wake up and go out to achieve something we want. Some live for love, some for fame, some for fortune, some for power, and some for material things. Some just want everything...
For most things, its easy to prove accomplishments with material things, but for love, how can we prove love? Are diamond rings or roses signs of love? I don't believe there is a way other than a feeling.
Whatever it is, I think its important we know what it is and focus on that. Its the best and quickest way to find a meaningful and happy life.
Tuesday, August 31, 2004
Ghost in Taiwan
Taiwan Ghost Month
It's not quite like Halloween in the U.S where we get all dressed up and have a great time. Ghost month here is Taiwan is quite different. All over the streets, u can see people setting big fire pits burning paper money to the ghosts, aka "Good Brothers". Its truly a spectacle to see, people worshiping with food stuffs ranging from instant noodles, chips, cookies, beers, and lots of paper money.
Why do Chinese people have such strange concepts towards the afterlife.
I find that there is a strange obsession for them to give (burn) things made out of paper. I've seen paper made stuff to look like money, houses, cars, mobile phones, and even paper man and paper woman.
I say when I'm dead, I really hope I don't have to worry about money or food or any other material things.
But just in case, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE ...
Burn Me a:
Huge house, housekeepers, Mercedes SLR, Big screen TV, Plane, Yacht, lots of GF's and of course MONEY $$$...
Monday, August 30, 2004
Summer Jazz in Taipei
What a wonderful night!!! Its almost unbelievable, but some of the greatest Jazz legends performed here in Taipei. Who says Taipei isn't a international city???
The event is the second annual Summer Jazz Festival 夏日爵士音樂節, which had originally scheduled three concerts with three headliners among the most influential figures jazz has produced in the last thirty or so years: Joe Lovano, Jack DeJohnette, and Ahmad Jamal (cancelled due to health reasons). This may sound pretentious, but we are dealing with icons here and as it goes with icons, they will for sure bring a taste of heaven to any jazz lover. However, the venue is somewhat disappointing. The National Concert Hall is far from being a smoke-filled jazz club, which means you don't get that "Feeling".
I was lucky enough to get tix for Jack Dejohnette, a true legend, he played with John Coltrane, and was a member of the Miles Davis' Band which recorded the first "jazz-rock album" Bitches Brew (1969). The event was sold out and it was worth every penny.
It was truly a marvelous night of Jazz!!!
Moore's Law Holds True
Working in the IT industry, one thing for sure is the constant change and continuous developments in technology. There is even a so called Moore's Law that specifies the doubling of transistors in CPU's. It basically means the rapid development of technology doubles every year.
I was watching TV today and saw a channel showing the movie Johnny Mnemonic starring Keanu Reeves. I remembered it was probably one of the worst movies ever made (but did sorta prepare him for the Matrix). In the movie, he was this person who can store data in his brain. What is funny is that at the time the movie was made, Keanu said he can "Store a total of 80 Gigabytes of data in his head" Now that may be alot 10 years ago, but today, u can buy a 120 gigabyte hard drive at any computer store for less than $100 bucks.
So its just amazing how fast technology has come. Or does it actually mean the Keanu does have a small brain?
Saturday, August 28, 2004
A "Brave New World" of Relationships
Seems like there is a craze recently for online dating, meeting people, and networking. There seems to be tons of services ranging from Yahoo Personals, MSN Personals, Friendster , Google's Orkut, and Linked In.
Just within this two weeks, I 've gotten invites from friends to join all of these services. Seems like a interesting and fun way to meet people. And boy there are alot of people on these things. I felt like I was already behind on the times. Its really hard to believe that so many people are using these services to meet new friends, gf/bf, biz contact, etc etc etc.
I have a extreme skepticism toward these online services, especially online dating. I've always believed that there are no real people on these things...Especially the women. I always thought it was these nerdy perverted guys pretending to be women or just really ugly women on there. (this assumption was based on my cousin's online dating experience almost 10 years ago. I drove him to the mall to meet his online date who he described looked like Cindy Crawford, but she turned out to be a really really ugly girl who was not even close Cindy or even the mole on her face) .
So forward my thinking 10 years later...there seems to be thousands of single, attractive, beautiful women online looking for THE ONE. Can this really be true? I hardly believe there are so many bored nerdy guys still pretending to be women and besides, the pics posted now seems to be pretty authentic. What made me a believer is that a girl friend of mine recently posted herself onto a online dating site (She is a person who I consider on the beautiful side). So are we now in a brave new world of meeting people online?
How authentic are the relationships based on birth signs, physical descriptions, pictures, "love walks on the beach & traveling to exotic places" descriptions for hobbies, bulletin board chatting, and experiencing the digital "feeling"?
I guess in this day and age where the first and last thing I see in my day is my computer, its not surprising we're accepting meeting people like this. Who knows, I may find my soul mate for "walks on the beach and traveling to exotic places" on one of these services.
Sometimes I find it ironic that you see people typing away chatting on MSN with complete strangers, but cannot stop to even look at the person sitting next to you on the subway or the co-worker at the next cubicle.
Thursday, August 26, 2004
Saturday, August 21, 2004
For Better or Worse...
I know its hard for many of you to believe, but I actually know someone who seems to have even better life than me.
Even though I'm already enjoying life as much as I can, my friend Vicente, takes it a step further. He's traveled to more countries than you can imagine, extremely talented and he is one of the smartest guy I've ever met, he speaks at least 6 or 7 languages.
He recently joined Emirates Airline as a flight attendant just so that he can travel the world.
I sometimes truly envy this guy!!! Learn more about his adventures on his blog
Friday, August 20, 2004
Blogging Helps Others!
Wow...I really didn't know my blog actually help some people (or that anyone actually reads it)
A friend in UK, MSN'd me the other day and told me that my blog about "Metrosexuals" actually helped her get a study project for her PhD. She had read my blog and was having discussion with her professor about new age men. So she used the term "Metrosexual" and her professor really like it. Now he wants her to do more studies on this area.
Now she gets paid to go do research and attend seminars. Why can't I get a job like that.
I'm glad my blogs are helping others and amazed that my ramblings have value. Hmm..wonder if I can get some royalties from her. He He
Now I feel like I have a strong responsibility to inspire others ...Alright...I'm aiming more for not boring them to death...
Oh, BTW, if anyone out there is really interested in reading good and funny blogs, my friend, Diva, has a amazing blog.
If you get inspirations from either mine or her blogs, I want royalties or referral fees...HeHeHe
Stereotypical ABC...Moi?
I've always found that Taiwanese have a bizarre stereotype of "ABC's". Everytime I meet someone or even long time friends, they always think my life is full of excitement and intrigue. They think us "ABC's" have some kind of secret club and handshake and we all get together every night, eat at the trendiest restaurants, and party at the clubs or lounges. Even more, they think we have tons of hot girls hanging around us all the time. Gosh, I wish it was all true...
I think in some ways, it kinda holds true...There is quite a small community of foreignly raised young chinese (don't like the term ABC) working in Taiwan and we do have social events to get connected and do enjoy going out and having nice dinners...Enjoying life overall...
So is the stereotype justified? I guess in some ways it does, and I don't really make that much of a effort to change it because I think it makes my life more interesting than what it actually is and my friends seem to like living through my so called exciting life. So no harm no foul.
Hmmm...maybe there are ABC's out there who are living the posh lifestyle that I don't even know about.... Damn!!!
Sunday, August 15, 2004
Slim Fast
Well...After some intense exercising (torture) by my trainer and power yoga... I can now finally indulge in the spoils of my hardwork.
Tonight, I stepped onto the weight scale and have lost 5 kilos since returning from the US. Feel like I am starting to get rid of the flab gained from all those great food and delicious buffets in the States. I can feel my stomach fat burn away...
So now the plan is to work out more and gain some more muscle mass...enough to compete with those big boys at the gym (ok..maybe not).
Tuesday, August 10, 2004
Rendez vous at the Emergency Room
Nothing can screw up ur evening like having to go to the emergency room of the hospital at 3 in the morning. My roommate last night woke me up at 3 a.m to ask if I can take him to the hospital because he was experiencing immense stomach pain.
So I drove him to the local hospital and checked him into the emergency room... I can honestly say that it was a horrific experience for me. Although its not my first time going to emergency room, but its definitely different when having to go there in the middle of the night. There were alot of sick looking people there...alot more sicker than my roommate.
Its a sad scene when you see old people who are sick and frail looking, lying there one by one in the hallways. I was beginning to feel like I was sick also just by seeing this. Everyone had tubes and wires hanging out of their bodies.
Well, the evening was capped off by seeing someone guy being rushed to the operating room while he dripped blood all over the floor and someone who died being rolled across in front of you. Let me just say it was quite a traumatic experience.
The experience for my friend wasn't much better. When he got there..he had to walk himself to get x-rayed, blood tested, urine tested and then finally saw a what I think a young and inexperienced doctor. He didn't seem to know what's wrong with my roommate, only that maybe he had a stomach infection (no shit Einstein) So the doc hooked him up with a IV and that's pretty much it (It seems that everyone had a IV and its the miracle drug used for treating everything at this hospital)
I realized that the human body is extremely frail. You really don't realize it until you see all these people in the emergency room. It seems that we are all alike and no matter how our lives are different, in the end, we're still fragile.
I just hope that when I get old and start having problems, I don't have to suffer.
Anyways, I stayed with my friend at the hospital until 8 a.m. He was much better when we left, not sure if it was the IV or just that he slept it off...hmmm...




